Present Administrative Organisation

The Administrative office is functioning in the Sreepadmam building from 1997. In the present set-up there is no yogam. The ancient families all except Mallisseri have become extinct. On 9th March 1971, the Government of Kerala introduced an Act , known as the Guruvayur Devaswom Act, replacing the Trusteeship by a Managing Committee, nominated by the Hindu Ministers in the State Cabinet.
The day-to-day administration is to be looked after by an Administrator appointed by the Government. The Managing Committee include, the Zamorin Raja, the Mallisseri Namboodiri and the Tantri of the temple among others.
Due to the High Court's directive that the Act should be revamped, the 1971 Act was replaced by 1978 Act. According to 1978 Act, the Managing Committee consists of 9 members - The Zamurin Raja, Mallisseri Namboodiri, the Tantri, a representative of the employees of the Devaswom and five more persons of whom one shall be a Scheduled Caste member. The six non-traditional members are appointed by the Hindu ministers of Kerala Government of which one will be the Chairman of the Managing Committee. The committee selects an Administrator from the panel of names given by the Government. The Administrator should not be below the rank of Deputy collector. The Administrator acts as the Secretary of the Managing Committee and the Chief Executive of the Devaswom.

Financial assets

Guruvayur temple had about 13000 acres of land until the Kerala Land Reforms Act came to force. Presently the Devaswom has 230 acres of land including that purchased after the Act. The major income of Devaswom is from the temple as Vazhipad by the devotees which amounts to about Rs.10.00 Core an year. Other sources of income are the receipts from land and buildings, Guest houses, interest from investments and endowments, livestock, grants and fees etc. There are about 900 permanent staff and many part-time and contract laborers working under the Devaswom.